Faiths, scientists and doctors unite Australian Parliament to urge climate action


Faiths, scientists and doctors unite in Parliament to urge climate action


Diverse faith leaders, climate scientists, doctors and community leaders will come together in Parliament House to deliver an urgent climate briefing to politicians. Later, they will join members of civil society congregating on Parliament House Lawns to create a Human Sign of the word ‘NOW’, a call for climate action now.


Professor Mark Howden (Director Climate Change Institute ANU), Stella Miria-Robinson (President, Pacific Islands Council of Queensland), Philippa Rowland (Multifaith SA), Dr Ingo Weber (Doctors for the Environment Australia), Jo Dodds (Tathra resident, Bega Valley Shire Council), Rev. Pamela Phillips (Anglican priest of the Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn), Dean Sahu Khan  (Muslim Community of Canberra), Amardeep Singh (Sikh Community Leader), Jacqueline Forbes (Tibetan Buddhist Society of Canberra), Venerable Thich Quang Ba (Sakyamuni Buddhist Centre, Van Hanh Monastery).


1 PM at Approved Assembly Area (Lawn) – APH backdrop – Solidarity across diverse faith, science and cultural communities.

1.45 PM Mural Hall B to 3.45 PM – Seated and speaking – Solidarity across diverse faith, science and cultural communities.

5.30 PM outside – Human sign for the word ‘NOW’, which is part of a wider mission to write the sentence “MAKE THE SWITCH NOW 100% RENEWABLES…IMAGINE”, plus banners and music.


1:00 pm Thursday 29 November – 15- minutes

1:45 pm to 3:45 Mural Hall B – 2 hours

 5:30pm Human Sign saying ‘NOW’ outside Parliament House – 30 minutes


1:00 pm  photos and statements Authorised Assembly Area, Parliament House, Canberra (see map below).

1:45 – 3:45 pm – Multifaith Climate Briefing in Mural Hall B 1.45 PM until 3.45 PM

5:30 pm  Human Sign: on the NCA lawns below Parliament House 5.30 PM



Prof. Mark Howden – Director Climate Change Institute, ANU, IPCC Co-Chair

Stella Miria-Robinson – President, Pacific Islands Council of Queensland

Philippa Rowland – President Multifaith SA, Community delegate at COP15 Copenhagen, COP21 Paris, Sommet de Conscience and COP22 Marrakech

Dr Ingo Weber – Doctors for the Environment Australia – No Time For Games

Jo Dodds – Bega Valley Shire Council, representing regional communities

Rev. Pamela Phillips – Anglican priest of the Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn, member of the Diocesan Public Issues Commission

Kantilal Jinna OAM – Hindu Community of Canberra

Dean Sahu Khan – Muslim Community of Canberra

Amardeep Singh – Sikh Community Leader Canberra

Jacqueline Forbes – Tibetan Buddhist Society of Canberra

Venerable Thich Quang Ba – Sakyamuni Buddhist Centre, Van Tranh Monastery

For interviews or more information, contact Sue Ennis on 0400 069 014. Alt. contact: Philippa Rowland on 0429 828 412

Philippa Rowland

President, Multifaith Association of South Australia

E: │ M: 0429 828412 │ PO Box 266 Stirling SA 5152 

Peace and good wishes to all – for the Earth